newbie, 5 volt led run on 12 volt

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by bigdodge, Jan 25, 2011.

1. bigdodge

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 25, 2011
    Hello to all.

My name is Dustin. I work as a mechanic for INDOT. One of the guys I work with is building a 32 ford hot rod. I'm helping the guy with all the wiring on the car, and we have just started on whole project.

My problem is with leds. The owner of the car is using 2 green leds for turn signals and a blue one for the bright headlights. We were able to find two greens at radioshack that are 12 volt, so they will work with no problem.

The question I have is with the blue led. The only one we could find is a 5 volt 30ma led. I'm sure that there is a way to make this work using a resistor. I am not able to figure it out. Also witch one of the leads is the positive, I thank its the longer one but not shure.

Any help would be greatly embraced. Thanks in advance for helping a fella in need.

2. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    If you're really sure it's a 5v LED, then you need to drop about 10v across a resistor, so that when the system is at 15v, the LED is properly powered. I'd shoot for less than the max rated current, eg. 20mA instead of 30mA. It'll last longer and be less likely to burn out. If it's not bright enough and you're confident how it's all working, you could then go to a lower resistance and higher current.

Anyway, Ohms law is your friend. V = I*R Rearrange to solve for R = V/I.

So for your LED, R = 15v/0.02A = 750 ohm. By the same calc, you'd use a 500 ohm for 30mA. But again, I'd start high in ohms and work down if needed. The LEDs may be plenty bright at 20mA.

3. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007