Newb with a lm386 audio amplifier issue.

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by AntiMS, Dec 27, 2014.

1. AntiMS

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 27, 2014
    Hi, folks. Newb here. I'm trying to build a simple lm386-based audio amplifier circuit. I've attached a schematic of what I've got.

I've got a simple pair of earbuds plugged into the audio output end, and an FM radio plugged into the input end for testing purposes. I'm powering it off of a 9V battery.

What I hear through the earbuds is a "click" at regular intervals. Listening closely, I can tell the "click" is actually a very short snippet of audio from the FM radio. (Just a single note or even less.)

Again, I'm pretty new to this. Please don't hesitate to point out anything bone-headed I'm doing. All help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks, folks.

2. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    Your amp configuration has a gain of 200, which is likely too much.
    Try removing the cap between pins 1 and 8, which will give a gain of 20.

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    Your 10k resistor is way off the recommended size.

4. AntiMS

Dec 27, 2014
    Tried that. Same result (except that I get slightly more background noise.)

5. tracecom

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 16, 2010
    If the amp were to work, it would overpower the earbuds. Replace them with a speaker.

6. AntiMS

Dec 27, 2014
    Ah. Good call. I just mislabeled the diagram I posted. That's actually a 10 ohm resister in my circuit. Sorry about that. Thanks for pointing that out, though.

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    I can't imagine that the 386 is reaching into your FM radio and snatching pieces of audio. Try a different input source and see if that makes a difference.

8. AntiMS

Dec 27, 2014
    Gotcha. Thanks. Tried a pair of speakers and got the same result, but it didn't sound like you thought that would solve the issue.

9. AntiMS

Dec 27, 2014
    Hmm. Well, trying a *different* FM radio gave me *different* results, but not necessarily *better* results.