Newb needs help adding cooling option to recording interface

tompkinzz

Joined Jan 17, 2012
I am very new to most of this stuff so forgive my ignorance. I have a recording DAW I use called a Lexicon Omega. The product works great most of the time but has a design flaw that causes it to over heat and I lose connection from usb to my PC. I have taken the units pc boards out of the chasse and constructed my own case to have more room for air flow and cooling. I would very much like to add a fan to the unit for additional cooling purposes. I was thinking that I could solder one on pretty easy to the main power connector inside the unit. I really dont want to use a seperate power supply just for the fan. The unit runs off a 9v 1300ma power supply. Of course 5v or 12v fans seem to be my only option so Im wondering what is the best way to go about this. Should I try and convert the 9v source to 5v using some type of voltage converter or a 7805 regulator or just use a 12v fan with a 9v source. And also will I need to up the milliampage on the power supply to keep things working properly. I do not yet have the fan purchased and I don't need a ton of airflow, just enough to add a little extra cooling. Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
How much current does your Omega require?.. With only a 1300mA power supply you probably don't have much left to power a fan as a 5V fan will require at least a few hundred milliamps. You could also use a 12V fan.. but I'd lean towards simply hooking up a fan to another wall wart type power supply and calling it a day. Even just a 100CFM fan can make a HUGE difference in operating temperature.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010