New to PCB design- Help?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by grldfischer, Jul 22, 2010.

1. grldfischer

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 22, 2010
    Hello All,

I am brand new to PCB design and I came across this forum while browsing. It’s very interesting to meet members here who are sharing information on PCB designing. I came across few articles on web regarding DFM (Design for Manufacturability) methodology which helps designers incorporate manufacturing knowledge during the initial design process, preventing design errors early in the design process and reducing the need for costly corrections later. Also one of my friends suggested me that we have free DFM software’s offered by few PCB manufacturers which is of great help to PCB designers. Ever heard of DFM methodology? Thanks much!

2. windoze killa

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 23, 2006
    WOW..... they have now got a name for it.

We have been doing it for years. One of the biggest DFM technologies is human. Engineers can design anything on the planet BUT thats where it ends in most cases. If you a design engineer and you what to make sure "DFM" is applied the give it to a technician for review. They will (in most cases) discover the shortcommings of a design.

For example, are the mounting holes in the right place? Is there enough clearance around the holes? Have you left enough clearance for connectors? Is the orientation of the connectors correct to allow the mating half to mate?

There are heaps of different aspects that must be considered.

Just remember.... Engineers design things and technicians make it work. ;-)

Nearly every design you see will have a REV higher than 1.

3. JoeJester

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 26, 2005
  4. grldfischer

Jul 22, 2010
    Hey All,

Thanks for your swift response. Can you please let me know if we have any free software available for DFM check?

5. sage.radachowsky

May 11, 2010