New to microcontrollers

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by conanav, Jun 14, 2008.

1. conanav

Thread Starter Member

Jun 14, 2008
    Hello All

I am a physics Phd. student and only recently I have become interested in microcontroller and microprocessor programming due to requirements in the lab im currently working in. I have a couple of general questions about possibilities of either of these devices. I have some very very basic knowledge of the devices but i cannot encompas it yet to even known if im able to do particular things i'm interested in, or which device(PIC or straight microprocessor?) might be better for a particular task:

So my questions are:
    1. Is it possible to configure your microcontroller in such way that it will allow the user to input a particular number that will correspond to the desired pulse delay. In other words, if i enter let's say 500 using a connected keypad, is it possible to control the built-in clock(let's say 10MHZ)to set one of the outputs to HIGH for the desired amount of time(either 500 clock pulses, or better yet 500 ns/us/ms/or even seconds)? I'm know this might probably require some intense coding but im just asking if it is reasonably possible.

2. Is it possible for the microcontrollers to collect data? I know that PIC units have built in D/As and A/Ds and flash memory so my question is if it is possible to code it in such way that it will store analog data from a particular input pin and allow me to execute let's a mathematical operation on it. For example is it possible to collect voltage readings at two different times and then compare and, let's say display the difference between them using an LCD panel.