new to microcontrollers, help needed.

kibodwin

Joined Sep 13, 2010
Hello,
I am new to microcontrollers and am trying to wire up a ATtiny2313-20PU microcontroller and a 20 Mhz crystal of type XT49S, a 0.1uF ceramic power filtering capacitor and a power LED. I am unsure as to how put it all together
and how to hook up to it.
Does anyone have a plan of how this goes together? I have looked at the data sheet (thinking this is how it is done) but I am a bit lost.
Also, how do I program it? I am reading about AVRdude but I am not sure that this is the correct way to proceed.
Any help / guidance is appreciated.
K.

You need a programmer, the author describes his in the article.
Next connect your ISP programmer to the header. There is a small 1 next to the ISP header to show you which pin is the one. The controller is powered by my programmer (USBtinyISP).

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
Just so you know it. Before you can use that "Tiny2313 Header" The onboard MCU need to be programmed. The chicken or the egg causality dilemma ;). If you order it you will get a pre-programmed chip( I think but I am not sure). But you can not just build it and then hope it will work.

kibodwin

Joined Sep 13, 2010
I will speed things up and order an AVR programmer from ladyada.
If I plan to continue with this I think it is a worthwhile investment.
Once I have the programmer I will see if the data sheet is enough
to start setting it all up. I presume I need some software to connect
to the tiny2313 and then flash it? Any idea on which software is suitable
for a beginner? Also, do I not need some sort of image file to flash onto
the chip?
thanks for the replies, it is appreciated.
K.

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
I second blueroomelectronics' suggestion. No muss, no fuss. With an Arduino DUEMILANOVE or its latest incarnation the UNO, you have a turn-key development system. It makes a great introduction tool into the world of microcontrollers.