New member needing advise

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by theecoop, Apr 3, 2009.

1. theecoop

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 3, 2009
    Hello everyone,
    I'm new here, I found this forum through google. wish I had found this forum a long time ago.
    I have some basic electricity knowledge. I am looking for advice from some experts that can guide me through some more technical electrical stuff.

Here is what I am wanting to do ... I would like to generate voltage from heating a wire(what type wire should I use?) lets say a range of heat from 1000 degrees to 1250 degrees, will the amount of windings around heat source increase voltage? should wire be magnetized? for flow? if so Should the wire be wrapped around the magnet or just need to pass through?
    if possible to get as much info as possible would be appreciated,Thanks
    Dave

2. thatoneguy

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2009
    Do you need to measure the temperature?

A type S Thermocouple will work in that range and be non-magnetic.

3. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
  4. theecoop

Apr 3, 2009
    im not needing to measure the temperature, Im needing to know how much voltage the heated wire will produce? can a positive and negative be pulled from this wire or will it need a magnet to create flow?

5. theecoop

Apr 3, 2009
    I should maybe include that im trying to create voltage from heat. then use this voltage.

6. thatoneguy

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2009
    Are you looking for something that will supply current for a load?

The voltage from a thermocouple is DC (one metal at a higher potential than the other), so there is a "+" and "-" side.

No magnetism involved. The usual method (coal and nuclear power) for heat to be converted into usable power is by boiling a fluid to create pressurized steam. That steam is then used to spin a turbine, the output shaft of which is connected to a generator, which runs at cool temperatures.

7. theecoop

Apr 3, 2009