New EMP project assistance needed

RavenPhoenix

Joined Mar 9, 2012
Hi All,

I am new to this forum and have been dabbling in electronics for a little while now. I am not a complete noob but way far off from being an expert. I am in dire need of assistance in building an EMP device (photos attached) for a testing project I have in Uni.

I have done a fair bit of research with doc google and I know that in order to obtain and EMP pulse the most standard method is to harness the EMF from a spark gap. However, I have stumbled across a pic which replaces the need for a classical spark gap with the use of an IGBT and a few high voltage Russian caps.

Judging from the pics I attached what I really need assistance with is how I would connect the primary and secondary windings up and would I need to separate the two windings with a dielectric e.g. glue? From memory the device is powered by 5 12v D sized batteries. I don't know what the exact value of the caps and IGBT are so any advice on what values I should use would be much greatly appreciated. The EMP device I am wishing to build does not have to be powerful at all; I basically just need it to provide enough juice to glitch very small devices like a calculator or to turn a energy fluorescent light bulb on when the button is pushed.

I apologise for being so long winded but I would be eternally great full if any resident expert could provide an insight on how I could achieve the result I am after. If I have missed anything or if there are any details that I could provide then please let me know.

Thank you kindly in advance.

Attachments

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
I think this falls into the category of "jamming devices", which is restricted in AAC. I 'll discuss more with the other mods and come back with a verdict.

RavenPhoenix

Joined Mar 9, 2012
Thanks guys, I will wait patiently for your decision.