Neutral and Phase

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by coneofsilence, Dec 24, 2014.

how does electron come from neutral?

1. a

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. b

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. coneofsilence

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 24, 2014
    hello i'm newbie here :)

as i known, neutral has zero charge of electron. then how does with 220v AC?
    in half of second, current flows from the neutral and go flowing to the L1/L2/L3, so how can electron come and flow?

2. ericgibbs

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 29, 2010
    hi,
    You are confusing 'Neutron', which has no charge with Neutral which is a name used to described mains wiring Line and Neutral.

E

3. coneofsilence

Dec 24, 2014
    hi eric, thanks for answering.
    i'm confused about neutral used for 220v ac (line+neutral). how can neutral provides current in a half of second? (based on alternating current principle).
    i'm electrical beginner, so sorry if i'm asking stupid question. actually i'm still confused about ur answer :)

4. ericgibbs

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 29, 2010
    hi,
    The Line [Phase] and Neutral are only the copper wires that form a conducting loop between the power station Alternator and the Load [ say a Kettle] in your house.
    The loop wires do not create or provide current.

In many mains supplies the Neutral wire is also connected to Ground/Earth

Does this help.?
    E

EDIT:
    To keep it simple, I have omitted any mains transformers.;)

Last edited: Dec 24, 2014
  5. coneofsilence

Dec 24, 2014
    eh sorry, aint a half of second, it depands upon its frequency.
    hha get it eric, i'm quite undertood, thanks.

let's see this vidio, would u mind to watch it? here's the link

oiya, how about if i touch the neutral wire? am i getting shocked? (if the phase isnt connected)