Neon indicator connection help please.

Larry4911

Joined Mar 15, 2012
Hello, I am new to the forum but have been doing my own electronics for some years now.

I am in the UK and working with 240VAC before anyone gives me advice around 110VAC.

This is my first time using them and I am a little confused over neon indicators.

I have also tried searching for previous posts relating to neon indicators on this forum and Google. However, I cannot find anything relevant on this forum and some idiot decided to name a car neon which rather messes up any Google search.

I am working on a twin deck record player that I have had sitting around waiting for me to replace it's burned out circuits. I have connected 240V neon indicators to show mains and both decks power on/off, between the switch lines and neutral to each switch, as I thought I was supposed to, they are all three, lighting to about 1/2 of full on with the switches in the off position.

So what am I doing wrong and how can I fix this problem?

Thanks

Larry

hwy101

Joined May 23, 2009
You may have the "hot" and the "neutral" reversed.
the "hot" goes to the switch.
Is your plug for the mains polarized?

You must be extremely careful working with line voltage, always unplug the unit before digging in.

KJ6EAD

Joined Apr 30, 2011
Assuming that you have the right type of switch and it's connected correctly, there is another current path to voltage, probably through a component such as a transformer or diode, but it could be something else or my assumption could be wrong.

There's nothing magical about the neon indicator itself. It's just a neon bulb with a voltage dropping resistor packaged together.

Larry4911

Joined Mar 15, 2012
Thanks for your replies.

I have just found out from the supplier that they are in fact 95volt neons with incorrect stickers applied. So, that is probably the reason for this *&$%^* up. So, how can I fix this?