Negative Voltage!

nagle_doff

Joined Sep 25, 2012
Hello,

I'm a newbie in EE and just learning things. Now I'm reading about voltages and potential differences...but there's something confusing about it.

Now a voltage source has two poles, + and -. Does this mean that each pole has a signed voltage? Does negative voltage exist? What does it mean?

Second, in circuits, the negative voltage pole is earth-grounded, but how does this make it zero voltage? So the negative pole of the battery is not anymore negative? Am I misunderstanding something here?

Thanks a lot!

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Voltage is a measure of potential difference.

Voltage measured is always the difference between two points.

When a voltage source such as a battery or DC power supply has markings + and -, it is only to show which is positive with respect to the other terminal.

If you have a 9V battery, the terminals are marked + and -.

Earth is considered so large that for all intents and purposes we use this as 0V reference. Anything connected to earth ground is considered 0V.

Hence if you connect the -ve terminal of the 9V battery to earth ground, the +ve terminal will be at +9V.

If you connect the +ve terminal to earth ground, the -ve terminal will be at -9V.

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
a LARGE majority of equipment in the telecom world runs at -48VDC..

The negative voltage is used to provide "cathodic protection" to increase equipment life..

nagle_doff

Joined Sep 25, 2012
When a voltage source such as a battery or DC power supply has markings + and -, it is only to show which is positive with respect to the other terminal.
So they are just used as convention to determine the current/electrons flow?

Hence if you connect the -ve terminal of the 9V battery to earth ground, the +ve terminal will be at +9V.