Negative voltage and Zener diode

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by zork, Nov 9, 2013.

1. zork

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 12, 2013
    Hi everybody,

In the circuit joined to this post :
    Used diodes are ideal diodes.
    R1 = R2 = 100 Ω
    U = -20 V
    Uz = 6V

I am asked to find the value of current passing through the zener diode.
    Here's how I did :

I've omit the diode D1 because no current flow though it (reverse biased). I've also omit the zener diode because it acts as a short circuit (forward biased).

Then,
    U - R2.I - R1.I = 0
    I = U/(R1+R2)
    I = 0.1 A

Is it right ? Because I've a doubt if I've to reverse the "arrow" of the voltage source or not.

I am a total novice in this field.
    Thanks in advance.

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 9, 2013
  2. bertus

Administrator

Apr 5, 2008
    Hello,

The post is moved to its own thread.

Bertus

3. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    You have two arrows next to the two resistors. What do they indicate? Is the I in your equations refer to the I next to the left-to-right arrow in the bottom branch?

If so, then you got the correct answer, but it appears that luck and happenstance played a role.

Your U is given as -20V, but then you drop the sign when you plug in the value for U when evaluating your final equation. Why?

4. zork

Oct 12, 2013
    @bertus : Thanks.

@WBahn : The two arrow near resistors refers to their voltage (I use them to apply Kirchhoff's 2nd law). And the I in the equation refers to the current across the circuit (it is the same because it is a series circuit).

I've drop the negative sign of U because I have reverse it's arrow. And this is what disturb me… What's the difference between 20V and -20V ?!

5. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    The difference between 20V and -20V is 40V.