Need to wire this washing machine motor. Lots of pics!

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by n0m0, Jun 13, 2013.

1. n0m0

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 13, 2013
    I need to wire this washing machine motor to use all 3 speed.

The motor is off of a Kenmore Elite washing machine.

1/2 HP - 115V - Hz. 60 - RPM 1725/1140/850 United States

I am not an electrician. I came to this forum for the wealth of knowledge so please use understandable language.

I want to wire this to run on a switch and and use all 3 speeds. So what switches to buy, and other extra parts would be great information...

Detailed help would be great thanks!

2. n0m0

Jun 13, 2013
    more pics of motor

3. n0m0

Jun 13, 2013
    one more pic of motor

4. Externet

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 29, 2005
  5. n0m0

Jun 13, 2013
    Unfortunately i can not read a schematic. Thank you for the diagram though. A little bit more help would be great! Thanks again!

6. Dr.killjoy

Apr 28, 2013
    I am sorry but if you can't read a schematic or a simple wiring diagram then you shouldn't probably be playing with that motor...

7. n0m0

Jun 13, 2013
    Well... Ive redone the entire wiring in my 4 bedroom home... Rewired the pool.. Added to my mancave.. And have not had to go back and rewire anything.. Im a chemical engineer. Just because i can not read a "electricity schematic" or went to school to be able to read one. Does not mean i am incapable of following directions. I understand that there are trolls on these forums. I didnt ask for opinion i asked for help.

8. bill5335

May 25, 2013
    Hi Nomo,
    I hope this helps. I will be using non-technical terms and I am not trying to be condescending.
    The motor is the large circle with 4 horizontal squiggly lines. Each of the lines is a winding.