Need to smooth out motor rotation to prevent changes in torque

Cirrus

Joined Mar 19, 2015
Hi there - I am extremely new to wiring and electronics and am actually a photographer. Nevertheless, I needed a motorized slider to take perfectly smooth video pans. To save money I tried making my own.

After much trouble I have basically found a solution I think works pretty good. However, there are two central issues I am facing right now.

Firstly, I invested in a PWM because I thought it would maintain more power at lower speeds (rather than a potentiometer). Unfortunately, when I try to dial down the PWM and go slow, the motor will start to jitter and even stall on and off. I have to increase the speed in order to maintain a more regular amount of movement.

Secondly, even when moving at a higher speed, there seem to be fluctuations in the speed that I can only attribute to what I have read is "torque ripple", although it may just be fluctuations in other factors I'm not aware of.

Basically, is there a way to wire the motor in a way that smooths out its speed, somehow making it perhaps slow-start but then maintain a constant voltage/speed, or at least minimize these issues?

I read somewhere that people add capacitors to motors, but it seemed to be to reduce electrical noise. For some reason I thought it may provide a "buffer" so that the motor always has voltage to draw from, thereby maintaining a more constant torque.

I have also read that servos somehow work in similar ways, but I don't know if getting one would solve this issue.

Thanks.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
You do not state the motor technology, DC, BLDC?
For accurate rpm control you require some kind of feedback, the most simplest way is a drive that monitor current and makes the rpm adjustment based on this, the better is velocity loop control is by some kind of tachometer feedback, most decent drives have this option.