Need to demultiplex 24v 1 to 4 then multiplex 4 back to 1.

gixxerman1980

Joined May 25, 2016
Every demultiplexer or multiplexer I've seen does not allow for the voltage I need to work with. I was wondering if anyone knew of any options that would allow me to do what they do, but still retain my 24v?

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
I don't know of any chips that do this, but it is not difficult to do with standard chips controlling switching transistors or transistor arrays.

ak

gixxerman1980

Joined May 25, 2016
Good to hear. I'm looking to use an Arduino to trigger the switching, but as I am far from an electrical engineer, I'm not sure where to go with this. All the transistors I've looked at only open and close one valve, if you will. I haven't found a component that will, or figured out how to redirect current from out1 to out2 on a trigger.

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
If the 24.15V is not changing, why do you need the multiplexer? Just generate the three voltages and switch alternately with transistors, preferaly each controled by a pin on the arduino, instead of a mux.

gixxerman1980

Joined May 25, 2016
I cannot generate three voltages as the one 24.15v signal is coming from a receiver that runs to a transducer and comes back to complete the circuit. As the pressure transducer is basically a dynamic variable resistor, I want to build a simulator that just uses known static values to test equipment. The receiver sends out 24.15v. When the transducer is connected, the circuit is closed and approx. 21.27v leaves the transducer back to the receiver. Consider that 0 psi. For the receiver to display about 2000 psi, it needs to have about 20.60v coming back to it from the transducer. I'd also like to see about 2200 psi, so the receiver would need to see about 20.45v coming back from the transducer. I figure, rather than just using resistors, it would be better to use resistor trimpots to fine tune the pressure I want to see.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013