Need to build a adjustable dc current circuit

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by deere_x475guy, Aug 16, 2010.

1. deere_x475guy

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 16, 2010
    Hello everyone,
    First off I am a total novice with electronic circuits. I did some googleing and came up with a data sheet for the LM 338 regulator. On page 12 of this data sheet I believe I have found the circuit that may work for me. The mains power will come from this power supply:

http://onlineshop.murrelektronik.co...turning=10&queryp=85088&search.x=0&search.y=0

The link above is to a power supply that is rated at 24-28 volts and 20 amps.

I am anodizing small parts to compliment my home shop machining hobby and currently am using a variac and a full bridge rectifier. I monitor my amperage constantly and adjust the variac voltage till my amps are inline with what the calculation say they need to be maintained at. The variac is almost 80 lbs and a real killer to move. A constant current power supply is what is normally used to do the anodizing. The range is amperage I am adjusting for is anywhere from .5 amps up to 3.85 amps. The volts just float where they need to be. Usually anywhere from 10.5 volts to 16 volts.

I guess I have a couple of questions. With my usage in mind and the supplied volts that I am going to feed and the volts I am going to use do you think this circuit will work? I have sourced all the components locally here in the Lansing Michigan area. I also have no clue what to do with the part of the curcuit that is coming out of the LM 117 so I could use some help that...in addition I think I read in one of the other posts on this board that I could use a LM 317 in place of the LM 117. I have read through a bunch of post this evening and some of the touch on this curcuit but I would like to see if I can narrow things down a bit in this thread.