Need some LED Circuit help for a hobby project...

V4Vendetta636

Joined Feb 11, 2011
Hello everyone,
I want to make a LED Project and am in need of some help.

The Basic idea I have is to Write a name using LEDS and with the use of a 4 position switch to alter the effects.
The way I figure it, I should be using about 100-150 leds in series for the 1st effect so that each LED will light up one after the other until the whole string is lit up.
The Next effect I wanted was for it to fade in and fade out the whole string.
And the last effect would be a chaser sequence giving the string a flowing effect from left to right.
(Position 4 would be an on/off switch)
I am a novice when it comes to circuitry but a quick learner :p

From what I know about LEDs, if I put that many in a series I will need about 350-400V (considering the LEDs are white in color)
I also read Bill Marsden's post about LED tech and wanted to ask about figure 11.4, What effect is that chain of 100 LEDs giving as an output?

Any info and help on setting this up would be much appreciated as I am planning on giving this as a gift to a friend:D

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Actually it is only 25 LEDs. It could be expanded to 100's I suppose, but that would be a lot more hassle. The formula for the number of 4017s is the 1st 4017 is 9 LEDs, the others will be 8 per 4017. So it would take 13 4017s to do 100 LEDs.

There is another thread you might find interesting. Use this thread to ask questions for your project. The other thread is an effort to make a PCB for the 25 LED sequencer. It is an ongoing project, but it is happening.

25 LED Open Ended Sequencer

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
Here's a posibility: 100 stage shift register, serial in " C " allows selection of bar graph type display ot sigle LED chaser & with option of comit tail by applying a hi to" A" . For controlling brightness add PWM to " B " normally hi. That's a lot of parts, one of these for every LED.

Attachments

V4Vendetta636