Need some help with a simple LED circuit

noingwhat

Joined Jul 23, 2010
Hi! I am pretty new to circuitry (working on my first few projects). One of my projects was an LED flashlight hat. I had wired it up and everything, and it worked great. I used two 9v batteries in series with 5 LEDs in series, meaning each LED was recieving approx. 3.6v each. I have used the LEDs with 6v ea. using two 3v batteries wired in series, and it just made the LEDs really bright so I figured if I added another 9v battery meaning a total of 27v, that would be 5.4v per LED and it would just make it really bright. So I added it in and... It blew the LEDs. All five of them. Can anyone explain why, I do not understand why 5.4 blew the LEDs when 6v didn't.

noingwhat

Joined Jul 23, 2010
9v -- 9v -- 9v -- Switch -- LED -- LED -- LED -- LED -- LED --|
|____________________________________________________|

Pretty simple.

My original circuit was exactly this, but only two 9v batteries instead of 3. Three is when it blew.

9v Duracell Batteries
3.2-3.8v 30mA LEDs (yes, I know, but it worked with 6 volts just fine) (Specs)

Last edited:

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
You need to read that article I wrote. You can not use LEDs without resistors, you've seen the results.

Chapter 1 explains the basics, which is where you're at.

JoeBro391

Joined May 15, 2010
hahaha, i'm pretty sure that 95% of the guys on this forum started out like this...at least, i know i did haha. Well, for this circuit, as most simple circuits, you need to use ohm's law: I=V/R (Current = Voltage/Resistance). In this case, we need to find a resistor to limit the current in the circuit so the LED's don't blow out. So we arrange Ohm's Law to R=V/I (Resistance = Voltage/Current)