Need some advise from the experts

scottjge

Joined Jan 22, 2009
Hi, I am scottjge and I stumbled on to your forum while google'ing for some advise. I am in hope that someone can steer me straight.

First I must let you know that I am a newbie to microcontrollers and I have limited knowledge in programming in C and in Basic. It may even be two late for me to learn, but my question is ;

I would like to learn to program microcontroller's but everywhere I look, there isn't a whole lot of good information. I would like to buy a programmer and a book that talks to a beginner to teach them how to program a microcontroller in a given language from the ground up. I also need some advise on which microcontroller to choose from. Eq; Pic, AVR, Motorola, Basic Stamp, etc.... the only requirement that I have for a micro is the availability and being real reasonable in price. I also need some advise on a programmer for that micro that doesn't run into hundreds of dollars just to get started.

I asked a question on a forum a year ago and they told me to learn C. So I bought a book to learn C. Well, now everything that I learned isn't necessarily useful on a microcontroller and I am confused. I am looking for a book that will take you thru programming a microcontroller with C and teach you about the timer, interrups, and all the things that look foreign to me, even after learning some C. I would like a book that starts form the ground and works up to the finished product.

One other problem that I am facing is my new computer. It has Vista X64 on it and I am having a hell of a time trying to find any programming software that will work on it, not to mention the fact that it doesn't have a parallel port which most programmers must have. So I need something in the USB line.

I don't know where to go next. I am disabled and thought that this was a great idea and a great hobby to pass my time away. I am no spring chicken either and that may be a hinder to my success.