need science project advice

opeets

Joined Mar 16, 2015
Don't know if this is the right forum or not but here I go anyway...

I need to come up with some ideas to help my 5th grade son on his science project. His proposal was to investigate, experiment, and document the properties of different electrical conductors. I have a background in computer engineering but my EE classes were well over 20 years ago and since then I've been a software developer so my knowledge base for electrical circuits is quite rusty.

I was considering constructing a basic circuit consisting of a battery, flashlight bulb, a digital multimeter, and conductors of varying material, thickness and length.

The simplest observation to be made with each conductor will be to observe how bright the bulb glows when connected to the battery.

I was considering taking this a little further by measuring the current flowing through the circuit (by connect the MM in series using gator clips) to show the relationship between current flow and intensity of the light bulb.

A couple of questions:

1) Does anyone see this not being a good approach?
2) Would a 6V battery be a good choice? Or should I use D batteries?
3) Any suggestion for a particular bulb?
4) Suggested conductors? So far I have one solid copper wire from a Cat5e cable and some steel wool.

Any advice would be appreciated!

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
A battery is ok, a psu will last longer, the thinner the wire the higher the resistance so less current will flow, and a the bulb will be dimmer, try the graphite from inside a pencil,thicker cables will make lower resistance, yes put the ammeter in series.

Last edited:

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
Not a bad idea.
You can use D cells or 6 V battery.

Conductor choice is difficult for such small load. U can use coil wire. thin wires will help. You need the ammeter in miliamps range.
You can use same wires and increase the no. by paralleling them to show how thicker wires reduce loss.