Need ideas on switching power supplies

Dynaman

Joined Jan 17, 2008
Greetings Folks:

I have no experience working with switching power supplies. I was wondering if anyone had any schematic links that that could show functional, switching powers supplies in their simplest form.

What i am looking to do is to get rid of a giant transformer in lieu of a switching power supply to drive all the voltage to vacuum tubes, and related solid state circuitry... so I assume, i will need a 12VDC@3 amps (filaments), 350VDC@100ma (b+), and +-15VDC@ 250ma (Op-amps, LED's etc.

I have never designed anything like this, and there may be stuff off the shelf already ready to go. Any suggestions?

A..

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
Two words

WALL WARTS

Or Three words

COMPUTER POWER SUPPLY

To get the 350 VDC B+ supply you could use an AC wall wart that supplies AC voltage. A common voltage most people find is 9 volts. Any low voltage AC wall wart would do, but here is the problem. You need to feed the AC voltage to a transformer. Put the voltage in on the secondary and use the primary as your output. This will 'step up' the voltage and also provide safety because you are isolated from the AC main by the Wall wart. You then have to rectify and filter the output.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
I've used a 5 volt switching supply for the rectifier filament. Problem is, the brick is floating at 350 DC! Of course you won't need the 5 volt supply to heat a rectifier tube for the 350 volt supply, will you?

A wall-wart with AC output can get you +/- 15V for opamps and filaments. The problem I haven't fixed is getting the 350 volts DC for the plates without using a big obnoxious transformer. I think I saw high voltage switching bricks for sale somewhere, but I can't remember. All Electronics? Electronics Goldmine? Somebody help me out here.

Dynaman

Joined Jan 17, 2008