Need help with timer circuit

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Avanti, Feb 15, 2008.

1. Avanti

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 15, 2008
    I'm in need of some help with a circuit I've put together. I am brand new to electronics, just recently took it up as a hobby and am an extreme novice.
    I have assembled a timer circuit using 555 timer chips. I have two monostabe circuits in series. The first is set for a one second pulse. When it finishes it triggers the second and that is set for a six second pulse. I have them both feeding the same output with diodes on the outputs to prevent backfeeding the opposite circuit. The whole thing is triggered by an infrared sensor. The trigger is through an npn transistor. The object is to have the pulse stay on as long as an object is detected and then six seconds after object is gone. The circuit works perfectly when I use a voltmeter or light bulb to test it. My problem is the the final output is to a solenoid. When I hook it up to the solenoid it does not work correctly. The solenoid keeps retriggering or fails to stop triggering when the object is gone. When I tested it with a voltmeter I get a residual voltage across the solenoid. The final output of the circuit is 12 volts and the residual volatage is approx. 9 volts. PS; I do have a protection diode installed across the solenoid. Do I somehow have to do something to drain the voltage left over in the coil. Anyone have any suggestions for a beginner.

2. hgmjr

Jan 28, 2005
    Can you provide a schematic of the circuit you are using to facilitate this discussion?

hgmjr

3. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    What is the current rating of the solenoid, or the resistance of the coil?

A bipolar 555 can source/sink up to about 200mA of current with a 15v supply. CMOS versions are much less; an LMC555 can source 10mA, or sink 50mA.