Need help with this circuit diagram

liltimmy

Joined Mar 11, 2009
Hi, im fairly new to the whole electronics thing but I have a couple of questions.

This is to do with two electronic bass pedals:

"This schematic shows the circuit needed. Note that it requires its own 5V power supply - one based on the simple LM7805 should be sufficient and can be powered from a 9V battery.

You should be at least somewhat familiar with electronics to assemble this. If you don't know what a 5V power supply is or why you would need one, you're going to have trouble if you try to make one of these.

"Make sure you get the 74HC14 Schmitt-Trigger Hex Inverter. The 7404 will not work. All of the diodes can be pretty much any kind. The 5V relay should be normally-open and should be non-latching. The transistor is a 2N3904, but any garden-variety NPN BJT should do.

What happens is that the closing of either input switch (i.e. either pedal) causes the output (the relay) to close for a short time, then re-open - regardless of whether the input pedal is still down or not.

This allows pedal #1 to be pushed down to trigger a Bass Drum hit, then while pedal #1 is still down, pedal #2 can be hit to trigger another Bass Drum hit! When working both pedals at once one after theother, this allows for some very fast bass drumming."

That's the circuit diagram and here are my questions:

1. What should I use where it says "jack"? I know I need two female jacks. The pulses are sent via a regular 3.5mm mono jack but im not sure how I would connect the jack to the leads leading into the breadboard.

2. What is a 5v relay? and where would i buy 1 (bearing in mind it has to be non-latching and normally-open)?

3. Similar to question 1, how would I wire the male audio jack that would be connected to the outpu

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

I wrote some comments in the drawing.