Need help with my Half-Bridge

mashmohsen

Joined Aug 4, 2011
Hi Guys,
I'm a newbie in this area and have a project for which I need to make an 200 Vac signal(f=100Hz) from a 3.7Vdc input signal.
As you all can see in the attached figure, a flyback converter has been used in the first-stage and then a half-bridge scheme in the second stage. Can you tell me how I can figure out the value for L?
My capacitors at the output are both 22nF and the desired output voltage has been shown there.
I also have problem in driving the mosfet switches in case of Ql and Qh. In fact I'm trying to simulate the 2nd stage in Pspice which you can see in the second figure. Can you please hele me driving my Mosfets?

t_n_k

Joined Mar 6, 2009
Notionally resonance occurs at

\(\omega=\sqrt{\frac{1}{LC}-\frac{R^2}{4L^2}}\)

with R=inductor series resistance. C in this case is twice the half-bridge capacitor value. If C_half_bridge=22nF then C=44nF in the formula.

But you may not actually want resonance condition - you probably need an operating frequency something like √2*f0. I'm not sure what it should be.... The circuit 'Q' must have some importance in the design.

If the operating frequency is 100kHz you might then use f0=70kHz.

Using a different device (IRF530) and faster diodes (BYV29-500) I get output per your requirement with L=100uH and the bridge caps C= 18nF at 100KHz. The inductor damping resistor was set to 56Ω.

Based on the aforementioned formula this setup has an f0=71.1KHz. The Q would be around 1.

Regarding your FET drive - for simplicity of simulation just put the upper FET drive source as an ungrounded (floating) waveform generator across the FET gate and source terminals as per the lower FET drive.

Edit:

Changing R to 2ohms gives a Q of about 26 and new f0=84KHz. Concurrently shifting the operating frequency to 125KHz gave an output from 0-200V per your requirement - also with a better sinusoidal characteristic than obtained earlier.