Need help with motor.

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by oldbug, Jan 5, 2013.

1. oldbug

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 5, 2013
    Hi folks. Im a total noob from norway, Im a mechanic and in desperate need of some help.
    I appologize if my english is rubbish!:)

I have a motor im planning to use in a lathe but the connector/junction block has been removed before i got it!!

My problem is that cant find out how to wire it, or if it eeds capacitor or anything, as i said im a noob at this!

I have gotten the motor to run but wanna be sure i do this right, hope somebody can help me:p
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

As far as i can see this motor is 1phase??

2. praondevou

AAC Fanatic!

Jul 9, 2011
    Yes it needs a cap. You could try to contact the manufacturer. There are some for sale on ebay, try to ask the seller.

From their data booklet.

"Single-phase constant-speed motors are available in the
    frame sizes 71 to 90 and in power sizes up to and including
    2.2 kW.
    • Single-phase MG 71 and MG 80 with run capacitor up
    to 35 μF incorporated in the terminal box."

3. strantor

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 3, 2010
    What size lathe? Unless it's a watch-maker's lathe, that motor seems undersized.

4. oldbug

Jan 5, 2013
    :p Thanx for your replies, its nice to be able to contact experts!
    I guess i just put this motor back on the shelf if its uderpowered!
    Im building a pretty big woodturning lathe, its mostly for small work like goblets,vases,plates and bowls but i wanna be able to turn big to!;)

i have another motor in my garage to, its from a big old metal cutting saw! the motor is very big and is 3 phase. Its 1,3kw

I cant use this either couse i dont have 3phase in my garage :(

I guess the search continues! Again Thanx allot!!:D

Last edited: Jan 6, 2013
  5. strantor

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 3, 2010
    well it might be good for a small-ish wood lathe. I was thinking metal lathe.

6. oldbug

Jan 5, 2013