Need help with LED ring PCB

idlplumb

Joined Apr 26, 2011
Hello everyone and thanks for reading this post.

I'm by no means skilled in electronics and I really don't know much beyond very simple circuits. I am a plumber by trade and have a sewer camera (basically waterproof camera with lights mounted on the end of a fiberglass cable) that I'm attemping to rebuild on my own.

My question lies in the PCB for the LEDs of the camera. The original LEDs were red which work fine for a B&W cam but it will be replaced with color and I needed to switch these LEDs over to white. Well, I removed the LEDs and cleaned up the PCB, but I failed to make a note of how the original LEDs were installed and now I'm a little confused.

From what I could tell, there may be one ground in this whole sequence and three power sources. (3 white wires, and one green - green was attached together with camera ground while white wires each had a separate connection point).

Excuse the crude MS Paint lines, but can anyone make sense of this?

Thanks so much in advance for your help and ideas!

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008
Let me be the first to agree that you screwed up. :D
So let's see if we can back track. Are there resistors on this board and what's the supply voltage?

idlplumb

Joined Apr 26, 2011
I'm not 100% sure on supply voltage but I am almost certain that resistors are already inline on a separate PCB. I can't remove that PCB from the piece that houses the connector (that attaches to the fiberglass cable), so I can't take a look at the underside of that. I attached 6 LEDs in series (I think they were 17000mcd) to what I believed was the +/- of the other PCB and they work, but are VERY dim, which leads my to believe there is a resistor there but available current may be low.

Let me try to get a pic of the other PCB and test voltage. Will report back in 10-15 minutes.

idlplumb

Joined Apr 26, 2011
Turns out there is 14.7V available on each one of those 3 power sources.