Need help with High Voltage DC Motor Control

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Clint Zang, Jul 7, 2015.

1. Clint Zang

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 26, 2015
    I'm fairly new to forums and electronics as a whole but need a little help.
    I currently use a MC-60 treadmill controller for controlling DC motors and have recently been introduced to Aduinos.
    The MC-60 uses PWM to control the speed and I would like to build a controller by useing the Arduino.
    Typically the motor ratings for treadmill motors are in the range of 90-130 Volts DC, 14-20AMPS.
    I've done a little research on attempting this and have come up with a possible circuit.
    I need another brain to look at my design and give me an idea if I'm on the right path.
    Attached is my design and also a schematic of the MC-60.
    Go easy on me, I'm a total newbe in this area, though I have a background in industrial automation engineering.

2. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
  3. Clint Zang

Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks for the quick reply. I did fine that blog interesting as a later option to explore later when I learn a little more about electronics and can understand better the terms and lingo.
    I'm trying to take simple steps first, and you threw me in the deep end of the pool. I was looking for some nuging in the right direction.
    Am I heading in the right direction with my design? I don't want to emulate the MC-60 fully at this point, just get the crazy thing to spin the motor without toasting a bunch of parts for gigles.

4. ScottWang

Aug 23, 2012
    Should we close this thread?
    Because if a transformerless circuit that it is restriction in the Terms of Service (ToS).

5. ScottWang

Aug 23, 2012
    Where are the 110Vdc+ and 110Vdc- come from?
    What you mean that the 110Vdc+ and 110Vdc- is just 110Vdc+ and 0V or 110Vdc+ and 110Vdc- equal to 220Vdc?

6. Clint Zang

Jun 26, 2015