Need help with diagram

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Guitarboyled, Apr 16, 2008.

1. Guitarboyled

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 16, 2008
    I’m new to this type of project and I will obviously need some help!

Looking at the following diagram (guitar amp)

http://www.schematics.ca/uploads/PDdownloads/peavey_classic20.pdf

I don’t seem to see the on/off switch and the pilot light. And I don’t understand what is connected in the Red and Yellow identifiers

Thanks guys

2. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    the two lines marked 'red' are from the high voltage secondary transformer winding.
    the two lines marked 'yellow' are from the low voltage secondary transformer winding.

the switch and pilot light aren't shown because they are on the primary side of the transformer, which is also not shown.

be careful. when power is applied, the high voltage side will have somewhere between 160v and 250v on it. it is a good practice to keep one hand in your back pocket, sit on a wooden chair, and wear rubber soled shoes when working on such circuits. this prevents completing a current path through your torso, which could easily kill you.

3. Guitarboyled

Apr 16, 2008
    Thanks

Do I need an extra diagram? I have no idea how to do this.

4. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    the primary side of the transformer wiring will be pretty simple. basically, the cord, the switch, the pilot light and the transformer itself. the primary side wires may simply be black.

what seems to be the problem - no output?

if the filaments in the tubes are not lit, you will not get any output. checking the two fuses would be a good place to start.

5. Guitarboyled

Apr 16, 2008
    I want to build this amp from scratch, this is my first electronics project.

If I don't see a diagram I won't be capable of building it.

I want to learn the basics but this is not my main job or hobby

6. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    oh, i see.