Need help with building thermostat for 5v fan. BEGINNER!

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by brybrew, Oct 6, 2015.

1. brybrew

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 6, 2015
    Hey Y'all,

I'm pretty new to this stuff but am currently working on a project. I think I have actually figured out all the harder stuff but now need to find a way to build a cheap, simple and small thermostat or thermal switch. The accuracy of the temperature is not all that important. The project box contains a Raspberry Pi and a few other boards and 4 SSRs so I expect it will get pretty warm. I am converting some of the power to 5V @3A so plan to use this for the fan. I would like to be able to run power straight through some sort of thermal switch that will kick the fan on around 90-110F or so and just run it until its below that.

Does anyone have any recommendations for thermal switch, thermistor/potentiometer or small relay setup? Again, the emphasis is on small and cheap and I'm not too concerned with absolute accuracy. Just need it to run when warm and not when cool.

2. brybrew

Oct 6, 2015
    Oh, and, thanks in advance!

3. brybrew

Oct 6, 2015
    Not sure if this helps but I have these laying around I could use if I need to.
    1 5V DC relay
    1 50K Potentiometer
    1 non-descriptive temperature sensor
    1 S8050 NPN Transistor
    1 2N7000 MOSFET Transistor

image1.JPG

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
  5. brybrew

Oct 6, 2015
    There are quite a few temp sensors there for sure. Some quite expensive. Does the voltage of my source and load not matter? I couldn't find any there for 5V. I would like to continue using this as a teaching lesson if possible as well.

Ive come across this which looks like it would work great but says it 12v so I wasn't sure it would work and I couldn't find a 5V one.

http://www.amazon.com/Single-Channel-Thermal-Control-Sensor-Temperature/dp/B00VFD08RQ

Expert

Nov 30, 2010