need help with a multi-input timer circuit.

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by rollertoaster, Feb 23, 2008.

1. rollertoaster

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 23, 2008
    This is my first post and I'm a NOOB at this. I understand the basics of how circuit components work but I have trouble putting it all together.

My project is: I need a circuit that evaluates the voltages on up to 5 separate wires (each either 0 or 12v). When any or all of the voltages changes from either high or low I need a timer to trigger for about a 1/2 second to ground a relay.

This project is for an automotive project so needs to be based off of 12v.
    I will be using it to monitor shift solenoids on an automatic transmission, and activate a relay during a shift for a period of about 1/2 second.

any input would be greatly appreciated. Please dumb it down for me

2. thingmaker3

Retired Moderator

May 16, 2005
    Perhaps you could make a five input AND gate from ten discreet diodes and trigger a 555 with the output.

3. kraze_eye

Feb 24, 2008
    You need to tell us about how this is being inputed. Are there switches on the shifter already that you're tying into? Also you should look into a 555 timer that is setup to be a one shot (aka monostable mode)

http://www.electronics-tutorials.com/devices/555.htm

Further information about the inputs is key tho for us to help you get anywhere.

4. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    I'm just trying to ensure that I understand your situation correctly.

You need to have the capability of generating a 1/2 second "ground pulse" if any of your (up to five) input wires changes from 0V to 12V, or from 12V to 0V.

Is that correct?

5. KMoffett

AAC Fanatic!

Dec 19, 2007