Need help with a battery powered IR LED Array

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Jumper, Nov 26, 2009.

1. Jumper

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 25, 2009
    Hi AAC -

I stumbled across this site while doing some research for a project and I am very impressed with the friendly help I have seen. I've searched a lot of threads and I've found enough info to be dangerous as I am just a hobbyist with a good grasp of the fundamentals of DC but only the VERY basics of electronics. I can barely read a schematic... However I have assembled a few velleman kits and I'm handy with a soldering iron.

I have a simple project really, but what I've read has made me aware that there may be a much better way to do what I want than what I have in mind.

I need to build 2, 15 IRLED array's and power them with a 12V battery.

I have ordered 30 of these http://www.goldmine-elec-products.com/prodinfo.asp?number=G2318B (not the 1000 pack, just 30)

and 30 of these http://www.goldmine-elec-products.com/prodinfo.asp?number=G13661

I wasn't sure which one would be best and they were cheap so I figured better to pay shipping once rather than twice.

Based on what I've read here, it looks like my array will consist of 4 series strings of 4 LED's with resistors for current limiting. I'll add a standard green LED to be the 16'th LED and it will light to give a visual indication of power. Seems pretty simple. Too simple in fact. What am I missing?

Also, I would like to add a red LED that will illuminate when the battery voltage drops below ~11.5. I have no idea how to make this happen.

Thanks for any help.

Jumper

2. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    Hi Jumper,
    Unfortunately, the IR LEDs you ordered have no real specifications. Other than one was for Zenith remote controls and is very dark. The other is 5mm and light gray, and "operates from 2.8v" is mentioned, but the all important "typical Vf @ current" has been omitted.