Need help wiring 3 speed motor to mains

accucore12

Joined Mar 15, 2013
How do I connect this three speed motor directly to the electrical mains?

The second image is the capacitor connected to the red and brown shown in the first image.

There are 4 wires connected to the motor coloured white, yellow ,blue and black respectively. White wire has a high speed label. Yellow has a medium speed label and blue has a low speed label.

I have no knowledge about motors. Hope someone can enlighten me on the

(1)the type of motor that this is and

(2)how to connect it directly to the electrical main

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
It is an induction motor. The connections are probably (at your own risk!) black to one mains wire and then one of the white, yellow or blue to the other mains wire, which one is connected determines the speed. If you try this, be sure to use a fuse 2A max to limit the volume of the bang if the motor is faulty or my guess at the connections is wrong.

accucore12

Joined Mar 15, 2013
It is an induction motor. The connections are probably (at your own risk!) black to one mains wire and then one of the white, yellow or blue to the other mains wire, which one is connected determines the speed. If you try this, be sure to use a fuse 2A max to limit the volume of the bang if the motor is faulty or my guess at the connections is wrong.
Can someone confirm this?

Ramussons

Joined May 3, 2013
Maybe you can check the resistances between the 4 wires in a tabular form to be more sure...
------------------white-----yellow-----blue-----black
white-------------0----------x-----------x---------x
yellow ----------------------0-----------x---------x
blue -------------------------------------0---------x
black ----------------------------------------------0

From these v
values, one can be more sure.... (presuming that the same gauge wire is used for all windings.

debe

Joined Sep 21, 2010