Need help understanding schematic, I'm new!

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by DBroadway, Apr 10, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DBroadway

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 10, 2013
    Hey guys, I'm a volunteer firefighter, and I need some new strobes for my truck, so I figured, why not try to make them! Well, turns out that that's easier said than done. I found this schematic and a video that showed the system running. The video shows the wig-wag pattern that I prefer, so this looks perfect for me! The only problem is that I don't really know what I'm looking at. I don't know what these parts are, where to get them, how they work, or how to put them together. I have good soldering and other mechanical skills so I should be able to put it together if I can figure it out. So what I'm asking of you guys, is to help me understand what I'm looking at, and how to make it. Thanks for the help in advance!
  2. DickCappels

Aug 21, 2008
    For starters, here are some potentially useful links. I suggest you start with the youtube video.

Things specific to your project, Q1 and Q2 are transistors, the electrode with the arrow is the emitter, the electrode that is a straight line that touches the vertical line is the base and the remaining line that touches the vertical line at 45° is the collector (abbreviated E,B, and C, respectively). The datasheet at the link below shows the physical location of the pins.