Need help understanding real world DC circuits.

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by nraynor, Mar 21, 2013.

1. nraynor

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 18, 2013
    I am very new to electronics and over the course of the last couple I have been frantically learning how all of this works. I am trying to understand how this device works in terms of what it looks like on a schematic. I have tried to draw out its schematic but I am pretty sure its not right.

The device is one LED with a switch that has 4 different settings.The first flashes at 1 flash per second, the second is 2 quick flashes per second, the third is a constant quick set of flashes with an even amount of pause between flashes and the fourth is a solid beam of light with no flashes. Of course if you hit it a fifth time it turns off. Also if you press and hold the switch it shuts off as well.

So far I know that the IC is whats controlling the different modes of flashes and the capacitors are what allow the LED to Flash.

There are 3 resistors connected in the circuit
    • R1 - 1M ohms
    • R2 5.6 ohms
    • R3 - 330k Oms

I am not sure what the IC is but it has 6 legs and and "00V7" printed on top.

There are 2 capacitors that are unmarked but are different sizes.

Its powered by 2 3v watch batteries underneath the board. I have attached a couple of photos to illustrate what it looks like.

How do you identify what is in parallel and what is in series in this circuit? How is the T9 and G notation on the board positive and negative terminals for the batteries?
    Lastly, do you need to calculate the specific capacitance to use in a flashing LED circuit and find a capacitor with that value, or do you just need to use a capacitor larger than the calculated value?

Thanks for any help in clarifying this.

Oh, and all of the components are SMD's, not sure if that changes anything.
  2. GopherT

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 23, 2012