Need help understanding “#define” usage in C++

integral

Joined Aug 19, 2010
I am new to learning C++ and one thing I have been doing to learn is to read through code others have written. I am interesting in image processing so I have being working with OpenCV.
My question has to do specifically with the usage of the pre-processor directive “#define”
It ‘s usage is defined as:

#define identifier replacement

Example:
#define THRESHOLD 100

The above replaces any occurrence of the word THRESHOLD with 100.
Sometimes I see #define used without a replacement. For example ("#define USE_FLANN" in the following)

:

Rich (BB code):
#include <cv.h>
#include <highgui.h>
#include <ctype.h>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

#include <iostream>
#include <vector>

using namespace std;

// define whether to use approximate nearest-neighbor search
#define USE_FLANN

IplImage *image = 0;

double
compareSURFDescriptors( const float* d1, const float* d2, double best, int length )
{
    double total_cost = 0;
    assert( length % 4 == 0 );
    for( int i = 0; i < length; i += 4 )
    {
        double t0 = d1 - d2;
        double t1 = d1[i+1] - d2[i+1];
        double t2 = d1[i+2] - d2[i+2];
        double t3 = d1[i+3] - d2[i+3];
        total_cost += t0*t0 + t1*t1 + t2*t2 + t3*t3;
        if( total_cost > best )
            break;
    }
    return total_cost;
}

The file where this segment of code comes from can be found here: http://sharesend.com/50nu3
What happens when #define is used without a replacement and why would one want to do that?

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
Lower in the code you should see something along the lines of:
Rich (BB code):
ifdef USE_FLANN
{
}
else
{
}
When a define defines a constant, such as LED=PORTB.1, the first pass of the compiler (pre-processor) simply goes through the code and everwhere LED appears as a variable, PORTB.1 is substituted.