Need help reading schematics

Kid347

Joined Aug 14, 2015
I am new to electronics and have been trying to teach myself for over a year now, and one of my big hurdles is reading schematics. I have attached a schematic of a kit that I purchased and I am stuck. Here is what confuses me about schematics. Connections to multiple components, if it is simply connect pin 1 to ground I am fine. But when it shows pin 1 connecting to pin 8 which also connects to to +5v and a capacitor to ground I am lost.
If you look at the schematic that I attached my questions are:

1. looking at IC on the left it shows pin 7 going to R1 which connects to C2 which connects to pin 8 which connects to pin 4 then it goes to 5v. this is where it gets confusing to me, I just don't understand the logic of how these components should be connected. I have a half dozen beginner electronics books but none of them explain how these multiple connections work.
  2. looking at the IC on the right same thing does pin 7 connect to 5v through R3? does VR2 connect to pin 7 and to R3 then to 5v? does pin 8 connect to pin 4? which then goes to C6 then to ground? and I am really clueless with the speaker connected to D1 which goes to 5v? and to Q1.
  3. but I am real clear on the IC555 on the left that pin 1 goes to ground, and pin 5 goes to ground through C3.
Well I am hoping that someone can clear this up for me. As it is really a hurdle that has brought my learning of electronics to a halt. Thank you in advance.

Attachments

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
All of the lines are called "nets" or sometimes "nodes" (as in nodal analysis). All components on the same net are, naturally, connected to each other. The order in which they're connected usually isn't significant since, by definition, all components on a net are connected.
looking at the IC on the right same thing does pin 7 connect to 5v through R3?
Yes
does VR2 connect to pin 7 and to R3 then to 5v?
Yes