Need help reading datasheet

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Gadjex, Apr 21, 2014.

1. Gadjex

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 8, 2014
    This is my first post and I hope I am not breaking any rules. If so please let me know.

I am just getting into electronics and circuit design. I would like to power a 24V DC motor and I am not sure how much amps I can safely pull from the MOSFET I have.

I have 4 I-Pak packages of IRFU7440PbF Power MOSFETs and I am having trouble figuring out what the safe max amperage is @ 24V in a H-bridge with the lower MOSFETs being driven by PWM.

These will run close to 25% duty, have no heatsink and be at room temperature.

Datasheet for IRFU7440PbF

Thank you,

Rob

2. bertus

Administrator

Apr 5, 2008
    Hello,

How will the mosfet be driven?
    You will need a gate voltage of at least 5 Volts and preferable 10 Volts.

Bertus

3. Gadjex

Apr 8, 2014
    I am using a full H-Bridge driver (HIP4081A) that will use a charge-pump and bootstrap.

4. Gadjex

Apr 8, 2014
    I forgot to add the driver is driven with 12 volts.

5. bertus

Administrator

Apr 5, 2008
    Hello,

When using a drive voltage of 12 Volts the fet will be driven fine.
    Keep in mind that the boost capacitor will have the correct value.

What will be the properties of the used motor?
    What is the stall current?

Bertus

6. Gadjex

Apr 8, 2014
    The motor is a linear actuator with 3.75 amps max load and 9 amps stalled. I will be controlling position with feedback sensor. 25% duty cycle is max.

Thanks for the continued help.

7. bertus

Administrator

Apr 5, 2008
    Hello,

The current will be no problem.
    Most power will be dissipated when the mosfet is turned on or off.
    That why it is importent to have a correct boost capacitor.
    The HIP datasheet will tell you how to calculate it.

Bertus

Gadjex likes this.
  8. THE_RB

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 11, 2008
    A 24v motor driven with a 12v PSU and 25% duty cycle?