Need help on linear regulator

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Van748, May 11, 2010.

1. Van748

Thread Starter New Member

May 11, 2010
    I was ask to design a power supply unit, using

Input: 230Vac
    Output: 3.3Vdc
    Use Linear Regulator for your design.

I'm still new to engineering so im a little vague about how should i do it. I tried reading other post about linear regulator but i still don't understand how should i design a circuit. I really need help !

2. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
  3. Van748

May 11, 2010
    thanks man !! im reading it now . but theres one part where i don't understand i hope you clarify my doubts too !

For most power applications, half-wave rectification is insufficient for the task. The harmonic content of the rectifier's output waveform is very large and consequently difficult to filter.

what do they mean by the " filtering " part ??

4. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    That means placing a capacitor after the rectifier output to act as an energy storage device. The accumulated charge on the capacitor can supply the circuit current during the time of no diode conduction, so the output voltage does not go to zero.

This part of the Ebook and the next discuss making DC linear power supplies - http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_6/chpt_5/6.html

5. Van748

May 11, 2010
    im reading the link that you post to me now .

how should i apply it on my circuit design ?

They say to use a capacitor at least twice the RMS AC voltage output of the low-voltage AC power supply. And there is a circuit diagram in that webpage too.

For the RMS AC voltage output of the low voltage AC power supply do they meant by my Output: 3.3Vdc ??

6. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004