Need help on an LED lighting project

iiMaque

Joined Nov 6, 2012
I have an EE background at school, but am truly humbled by what I don't know as I start doing practical projects. So talk to me like I'm a noob that knows some theory, with little power experience.

I'd like to create a circuit, driven by one 24V AC. I'd like to have a fence lighted up by having single LEDs placed every 20 feet, on a 300 ft fence. The wire would be covered in PVC and waterproofed within the fence, but we want to expose the LED bulb. We want this circuit to be as cheap as possible but safe. All I know is that we'd need to connect these LEDs in parallel, and each are connected with a current-limiting resistor.

>What type of wire would I use that would work best?
>Would I have to convert the 24V AC to DC, and using what component?
>Is there anything I need to modify in this long circuit?
>What LED parameters would I need to have to make it a bright-enough fence so that people a block away might be able to see the fence light up? Would these LEDs http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2062548 work?
>Is exposing the LED to the outside dangerous, e.g. would rain be dangerous to a kid who tries to play around with it, since it's powered by 24V?
>What exactly is considered "high voltage?" (I'm worried about safety)

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
>What type of wire would I use that would work best?
Just about anything would be OK. Your biggest stress is the sun warming the PVC conduit. You can find low voltage lighting wire at a home center rated to work without the PVC.

>Would I have to convert the 24V AC to DC, and using what component?
While each LED acts as a diode they make poor diodes, so you would need another series diode to protect the LED from reverse voltage, plus a series resistor (all 3 parts in series). I'd try something like a 2K ohm 1/2 watt resistor to start and experiment to see what value makes the intensity you like.