need help in starting a project

indianhits

Joined Jul 25, 2009
hello guys, i am trying to make a spy RC controlled helicopter for my project but i have a very low knowledge about motors etc than electronic equipments.so,here goes my problem i want to create my own helicopter for this purpose i want to know what kind of DC motor should i use to make a LIFT of the helicopter i mean required V and I and also type of motor.And yes i know you are thinking about weight of the helicopter for that i would say that the things that are to be kept in helicopter are the battery(may be button type or AAA size depending on motor),the Motor and a small mini spy camera.i really need to know what kind of motor to be used.so,please help me if you can.and this is my first project.:)

thank you.

retched

Joined Dec 5, 2009
You should buy one of the $30us remote control helicopters. You can take the props and motors off the toy or add your camera to the toy.

here is one that will do what you want. It will lift 2 ounces.

http://www.thinkrc.com/3ch-syma-s030-bell-helicopter-p-665.html

If I remember correctly from my first heli, The speed of the motor stayed at 400 rpm. You use the pitch of the blade for lift. If you spin the blades to fast, it will never leave the ground.

Last edited:

indianhits

Joined Jul 25, 2009
thanks for the reply! but can you tell me the motor type that way i don't need to buy a full toy for this cause that would cost more cause i live in south asia

and do we actually need to run at 400RPM???and how much ounces did you apply??

and i have 3 of this type of motors(although i don't know the specs of this motor)(from toys which i used to play when i was young)

retched

Joined Dec 5, 2009
I can all but promise you, it will cost more to make than to buy. But if you want to build it, I can understand.