Need help in constructing PIC16F84A circuit on my project

saathis

Joined Dec 13, 2010
Dear friends,

Here im saathis from Malaysia, regards my final year project i have some doubt about the PIC16F84A microcontroller. Currently im studying final year in computer science which majoring in networking. So, i have select E-Smart Door Access System as my final year project title. This project based to image processing which use fingerprint reader to identify the user to acess the door. So, here i need implement PIC16F84A circuit to send the signal to the magnetic lock via relay after fingerprint matching process. So now my doubt is how i can implement PIC16F84A circuit and what are the equipments need in order to build PIC16F84A circuit board. Any one can show or answer my questions. Thank you!!!!

tyblu

Joined Nov 29, 2010
You may want to buy a development kit. You'll want the PICkit programmer, regardless. It comes in this kit, though it is the old version 2 -- PICkit 3 is now required. Maybe contact them and ask if the PICkit 3 is now included in that kit. Anyway, it comes with the kernel circuit and the chip you mentioned.

http://www.microchipdirect.com/ProductSearch.aspx?Keywords=DM163035

This is another board, but looks more expensive:
http://www.microchip.com/stellent/i...06&dDocName=en545425&redirects=F1EvalPlatform

This is the PICkit 3:
http://www.microchipdirect.com/ProductSearch.aspx?Keywords=PG164130

If you can change families to the PIC18, you can get the PICkit 3 and PIC18F45K20:
http://www.microchipdirect.com/ProductSearch.aspx?keywords=DV164131

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
The PIC16F84A is an 8-bit processor, has only 1024 words of program memory, 68 bytes of data RAM, and 64 bytes of data EEProm.

I don't know how you think that you'll be able to process a fingerprint image with such a minuscule amount of computing power.

retched

Joined Dec 5, 2009