Need help disassembling LED flasher

AndrejaKo

Joined Sep 6, 2010
My first post here, so if I picked wrong forum, I apologize.

Anyway, here's my story:

Few days ago I decided to get needed equipment to get into electronics.
I currently have available:
250g of ELSOLD 1mm 60%Sn/40%Pb solder with ELTIN 3064 flux inside
1.6m of 2mm wide amasan L20 desoldering braid
SOMOGYI electronic SMA HSP 75 desoldering pump
ERSA Multitip 25W soldering iron with 172BD tip (circular, 1.1mm diameter)
some generic sponge

For my first project I decided to disassemble a LED flasher. I hope to gain experience by disassembling it and to obtain some electronic components. Since I'm not very experienced, I don't expect to actually be able to desolder most of the components and have them work after.

The flasher is LOUPI Electronic Art Gallery IL-ED01-v2.

After all this exposition, I finally came to my problem.

The flasher consists of basically three main components. A piece of plastic, one battery compartment and a printed circuit board.

My first problem is the piece of plastic. The PCB and battery compartment are glued to it using white foamy adhesive pads (such pads are visible on pictures under LOUPI link) which I've often seen used in electronics but I do not know their name. I'm looking for a relatively easy way to destroy them without damaging the PCB and battery compartment. I managed to separate PCB form the plastic part, but remains of the pad are still on the PCB and seem difficult to scrape off.

My second problem is PCB itself. The traces and terminals are mostly clearly visible and it looks like it's going to be easy to disassemble most parts, but there are two things which are problematic.