Need help designing a circuit

Skarkull

Joined Sep 21, 2010
Good day, I'm an electronics tech in the military, but I have mainly been doing LRU troubleshooting, and my understanding of circuit designs has not been used since I was trained on it over 7 years ago. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I'm trying to design a warning system that will activate either a LED or a small buzzer. I need this warning system to activate when there is an absence of current. Here's the basics:

I have an electrical motor that will be powered by 12v here is how it is wired up:

Now what I need is a warning to let me know when the circuit between pins 85 and 87 is broken and there is no current indicating that the pump has gone bad. I was thinking of logic gates, and a 4000B CMOS chip because of the high voltage requirement, 12v. However, I'm not familiar with IC chips too much, I only received training and have no practical experience. I know on the 4000B pins 8 and 9 are a NOT logic gate with 8 being the input and 9 the output. So when I have no voltage on pin 8 I should have a logic high on 9 correct? What should this high consist of? 3V? 5V? would it be enough to run an LED off of, or would I need to use the voltage coming off of pin 9 to activate a transistor? Any help in this matter would be greatly appreciated, as I said it has been years since any training, and even with my training, I have no practical application.

Thanks,

James

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
The problem is the number of different ways the pump could go 'bad'. The relay might stop funtioning, so no voltage gets to the motor. The motor coils might go open, so voltage would be good, but no rotation of motor. The motor coils could short, so current is drawn, but no motor rotation. The fuse from the battery might open, so no voltage.

See where I'm going?

tom66

Joined May 9, 2009