Need help choosing between a nettop and a microcontroller.

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by Yusif Nurizade, Jul 4, 2011.

1. Yusif Nurizade

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 4, 2011
    Hello, I am new to the site and am very happy to have found it. I am an electrical engineering student at NYU Polytechnic and am looking for some advice on a project I am participating in.

The project is a lunar excavator for a NASA competition that must be controlled via a router to navigate an obstacle course, mine lunar regolith simulant and return it to a specified area. I am on the controls subcommittee for the project and we are currently in the research phase. The first step is choosing between using a nettop or microcontroller and the choice must fit with the objective of the competition. Said objectives include:

1. Minimal weight - the robot must be under 176 lbs and every little bit counts so much so that we will probably end up having to scrap parts to make weight).
    2. Minimal bandwidth - points are allotted for different categories one of which is bandwidth used. The maximum bandwidth allowed is 5 mb/s and some teams have come in under 1 mb/s. This is not total bandwidth but average over the time of the collection so we can have peaks and troughs.
    3. Minimal cost - we are, after all, a university team trying to get our own funding.
    4. Ease of use - not everyone on the team is proficient in microcontrollers even more so nettops and those that are will not necessarily have experience in the specific one that fits the job. It would be preferential that the selection be easy to learn although I should point out we are quick learners with plenty of people to turn to for assistance.