need help choosing a microcontroller

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by kuhkoa, Jan 8, 2011.

1. kuhkoa

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 8, 2011
    Hi everybody! I'm new to forum and I was hoping someone could help me choose a microcontroller for my team's project.

I'm a first year college student majoring in Computer Science. I've recently obtained an internship where I'm in a team of 5 other undergrads (mostly Electrical Engineers). We are supposed to build a motion detection sound system for a local musical instrument museum's display.

Our idea is to set up motion sensors in front of the glass displays so that if somebody triggered the sensor, a sound clip of the instrument behind the glass will play.

So basically, we need a microcontroller that we can hook up the motion sensors to and store a bunch of sound files in.

I haven't had much experience with microcontrollers in the past, except for playing with one to program a robot to do certain things (just sense its environment and play sounds and such)... so hopefully, you can recommend something that's easier to use.

Thank you so much!
    Kirsten

2. thatoneguy

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2009
    Would it be OK to have the sound samples stored in different ICs?

What are the sound samples (Duration, volume, etc)? It may be easier to run a PIC for the detection of motion, then trigger the "Play" on a few external 20 second sound record/playback ICs. The sounds would need to be pre-recorded, but that would give you good fidelity.

Most microcontrollers outside the dsPIC line cannot generate much for sound other than different frequency beeps.

kuhkoa likes this.
  3. kuhkoa

Jan 8, 2011
    Ohh, I see. Yeah, I just read somewhere too that even the dsPIC line wouldn't have the best sound quality.. so that's probably not the best thing.

Yeah, I think that sounds like a good idea. Would any PIC microcontroller work or do you think a certain one would be better for the job?