Need Help Building Transceiver without audio frequency transmission.

Artemis11

Joined Nov 6, 2015
I'm working on project for school, and rather than simply buying a transceiver I want to build one. I'm studying Mechanical Engineering, so i virtually know scraps of signal transmission. All the schematics I have found want to convert an audio signal, from a mic, into a radio frequency. I just want to send a radio signal as a ping to another transceiver.

I'm hoping by removing the need for frequency conversion, the device will be smaller and require less power.

Less filtering and less amplification modules.

upload_2015-11-6_13-7-18.png
The idea is, if this represents a the block diagram of a transceiver, and I can remove the conversion requirements I can do away with the variable frequency oscillator, beat frequency oscillator, and mixers.

Art

Joined Sep 10, 2007
If you want to get to bare minimum, an oscillator is a transmitter, and a resonant LC circuit is a receiver.

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
If you want to get to bare minimum, an oscillator is a transmitter, and a resonant LC circuit is a receiver.
Yes, and it will have minimal range, and be interfered with by all nearby transmitters.

The simplest receiver is a super-regenerative circuit as used in the 315MHz and 433MHz remote control receivers all over EBay...

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008

AM pulse code transmitter.

TRF receiver.Regenerative detectors are more sensitive but at a cost.
Note: Some would call the detector circuit a Reflex detector. It is not because the 22 uf capacitor filters out the baseband signal.

kyka

Joined Jun 7, 2015