Need Help Building A Simple Left To Right Solar Tracker, Having Issues With H-Bridge

rs14smith

Joined Feb 19, 2010
Hey guys/ladies,

I'm trying to build a solar tracker, and I'm still fairly new to some components used in circuits such as Mosfets, but I have been trying to read up on it but not really getting too far with my project.

The concept is fairly easy, and at one point my circuit was working but my MOSFETs I was using at first where becoming extremely hot, so I figured I had something hooked up wrong. The Mosfets in the schematic attached can handle much more current than my first ones, but I have not tested these out yet, as I wanted to get some ideas on how to hook this up the right way to achieve my goal.

Thanks!

Note* All my FETs are NPN in the schematic. I know some suggest using PNP for high or something like that, and NPN for low...but if so, can you tell me which ones to buy? I'd like to power at least a 12V Linear Actuator.:)

Attachments

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
How much current does your linear actuator require? If it's under 0.7A, you could use something like an L272, and dispense with the MOSFETs entirely, like this:

The way you're trying to do things now won't work, as the high-side MOSFETs will stay in the linear conduction region and will get hot.
[eta]
The LM324's output can go nearly to ground, but it can't get higher than about Vcc-1.5v. So, even if you used P-channel MOSFETs for the high side, you would never get them turned all the way off using an LM324 for a gate driver.

Besides, the LM324 is terribly slow. You would wind up having "shoot-through" any time you tried changing the state of the bridge. "Shoot-through" is when both the high and low side MOSFETs are on at the same time.

Attachments

Last edited:

rs14smith

Joined Feb 19, 2010