need help/advice on a project

mynameismaddie

Joined Aug 16, 2011
im fine art student currently working on a commissioned light installation project im designing a light installation in which i want the LEDS to react with sound, im a bit new to this sort of thing so any advice on what i would need and how i might go about it would be amazing.

Jaguarjoe

Joined Apr 7, 2010
What is going to change the intensity, a knob, or a microphone, or dance to the music or somesuch thing?
How many LED's do you want to control?
What kind of LED's do you have, what is their Vf (forward voltage) and operating current?
Are all of the LED's connected together so they all vary together?
What is your power supply voltage and current rating?

There's a couple ways you could go at this depending upon your replies to the above questions.

I'll bet that if you search here or elsewhere for an "LED modulator" you'll see how to do it.

Did you visit the Arduino microcontroller website? They cater to things like this but they're kinda pricey (~$30), at least for me anyhow.
Picaxe is another μC. Pretty cheap (~$2.50) and easy to use but bare bones.

iONic

Joined Nov 16, 2007
im fine art student currently working on a commissioned light installation project im designing a light installation in which i want the LEDS to react with sound, im a bit new to this sort of thing so any advice on what i would need and how i might go about it would be amazing.
There must be more details that were given to you from the Person/institution that commissioned you. I'm sure they told you more than "I'll pay you to install LED's somewhere(??) and have them respond to some sound(??)