Need Help 5x7 Bi-Color LED Dot Matrix Switched Counting Flashing Changing Project

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by eazy2001x, Mar 26, 2008.

1. eazy2001x

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 26, 2008
    Hi,

I am very new to this and not even sure where to start. I have been searching Google for a good forum to post to that will be helpful and answer my questions and well. Here I am. Hope I made the right choice.

Ok.

I am working on a project that consists of:
    6 micro switches
    1 Bi-Color Red - Green LED Dot Matrix

What I want to do is when switch 1 is selected it will make a number one light up in green the dot matrix LED. I will also have single wire that will send a 12v (haven’t decided if it was going to be - or + yet) at any given time. When that single wire is active I want that number 1 to change to red.

When switch 2 is pressed it will work the same way as number 1 but display a number 2 and when that single wire sends the 12V it will switch to a red number 2. I will need this to work all the way up to number 5. When switch 6 is pressed it will display an R.

Now if no switches are pressed I want it to display a Green N. It will also need to operate off of a 12V power supply. I will also need it to have another output that will light up another set of LEDS only when the 12V is sent from the other device.

So it will need:
    6 inputs from switches
    1 input from a 12v source
    20 pin on the screen

What I think I need.
    Some type of microcontroller a pc board and lots of help :)

I really don’t know where to start and will accept any help provided. There is more to this project but this is where I'm starting.

2. mrmeval

Distinguished Member

Jun 30, 2006
  3. eazy2001x

Mar 26, 2008
    Ok looking at my options.

First: ATmega168 based Arduino Diecimila

14 digital input/output pins
    only 12 can be used because of the USB communication
    Input Voltage (recommended) 7-12 V