Need guidance with Adjustable PWM with 555 Timers

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by ahchah08, Jun 17, 2013.

1. ahchah08

Thread Starter Member

Nov 13, 2008
    Hello All,

I am working on a project where I have to make a PWM generator (adjustable with a pot) using a 555 timer. What I need done is to create a circuit that keeps the output at 200hz while being able to adjust the duty cycle from 10% to 100% using a pot or rotary switch actually.

I'm relatively new with electronics. I've read the data sheet for the 555 and read up astable operation. So far from what I've come up with, adjusting resistor values will change both duty cycle and frequency. I need to be able to keep the frequency stable at around 200 hz, while changing the duty cycle. Also, another problem with that is that, I can't calculate it to get below 50% duty cycle for some reason.

Does anyone have any recommendations? I am not very creative with this.

Thanks a lot

2. ahchah08

Thread Starter Member

Nov 13, 2008
    I think I can use a diode in parallel with Rb to solve the less than 50% duty cycle issue. Right?

3. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    Take a look here. Should help you along.

Also, you might be interested in this, thanks to another recent thread here. Tough to justify building something when you can buy so cheaply.

And while we're at it, if you want to drive a larger current than the 555 can handle itself, this might help you (bottom of the page).

Last edited: Jun 17, 2013
  4. ahchah08

Thread Starter Member

Nov 13, 2008
    Hi, I looked at those links you gave me.

That first article doesn't really mention that I am able to adjust the PWM while keeping the frequency constant. That's my main issue at the moment. It does mention the ability to adjust frequency while not changing duty cycle.

Do you have an idea on how to do it? I think the circuits that were given in the article all effect frequency when the duty cycle is adjusted. Thanks

5. wayneh

Expert